Posted 4/30/2024
SPEEA applauds bipartisan agreement on FAA
Reauthorization Bill

WASHINGTON, D.C. – SPEEA, IFPTE 2001 proudly joins fellow aerospace labor unions in congratulating the U.S. House and Senate leadership for their collaborative efforts in achieving a bipartisan agreement on the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Reauthorization bill.

Passage of this legislation demonstrates congressional dedication to strengthening the FAA and prioritizing crucial aspects of aviation safety. Further, the increased funding for the Aviation Workforce Development Program, along with the introduction of a new grant program for our manufacturing workforce, represents a vital investment in our nation’s aerospace workers, ensuring the ongoing leadership of the U.S. in aerospace.

SPEEA, representing more than 19,000 engineering, technical, professional workers and pilots at The Boeing Company and Spirit AeroSystems in multiple states, applauds the dedication of all those involved in reaching this pivotal agreement.

“Reaching agreement on a bipartisan reauthorization bill was made possible by tireless efforts of key congressional leaders and their staff,” noted SPEEA Legislative Director Brandon Anderson.

“We extend our gratitude to Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee Chair Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA), House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Chairman Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO), House Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Ranking Member Rep. Rick Larsen (D-WA), and Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee Ranking Member Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX).

“Their leadership has been instrumental in shaping a bill that not only bolsters our nation’s aerospace and aviation workforces but also fortifies the FAA, ensuring safer skies and a more robust aviation industry for generations to come,” Anderson said.

SPEEA recognizes this achievement would not have been possible without the dedicated advocacy of our union members. As we celebrate this win, SPEEA reaffirms its commitment to advancing the interests of aerospace professionals and ensuring the continued safety and success of the U.S. aerospace industry.